Second XI T20: Worcestershire v Somerset


Worcestershire came out on top in this Second XI T20 fixture at Barnt Green CC by 11 runs.

Worcestershire won the toss and elected to bat first.

Oliver Cox and Nils Priestley shared an opening stand of 35 before the former was bowled by Ned Leonard in the off the final ball of the fourth over. Leonard the removed Priestley, courtesy of a catch by Shoaib Bashir, to leave the hosts on 48 for two at the end of the powerplay.

Shoaib Bashir then claimed the first of his two wickets when he had Matthew Wait caught by Andy Umeed for nine at 59 for three. Gareth Roderick was the spinner’s second victim when he was stumped by James Rew for 20.

98 for four soon became 115 for seven as the visiting bowlers turned the screw. However, a 53 run partnership for the eighth wicket between Rehaan Edavalath and Henry Cullen ensured that their side posted a total of 168 for seven.

The Somerset reply started strongly and by the end of the powerplay the visitors were 53 for one. Opener George Thomas made 52 from 36 balls but when he fell Somerset were 74 for three in the 10th over.

George Bartlett and Sean Dickson added 48 for the fourth wicket until the former fell for 29. Dickson’s knock of 24 from 14 balls, alongside a brisk 20 not out from Kasey Aldridge gave Somerset hope but some quality bowling by Joe Leach (four for 23) meant that Somerset ran out of overs and finished on 157 for nine.

Somerset Second XI Coach Greg Kennis has named the following squad: Andy Umeed, George Thomas, James Rew, George Bartlett, Sean Dickson, Kasey Aldridge, Josh Thomas, Fin Hill, Ned Leonard, Alfie Ogborne and Shoaib Bashir.