Second XI T20: Glamorgan v Somerset


Glamorgan claimed a three-wicket win over Somerset in this Second XI T20 match at Newport CC.

The home side won the toss and elected to bowl first

Andy Umeed and George Thomas shared an opening stand of 23 before the former was bowled by Tim van der Gugten for 10 in the fourth over. Thomas was then bowled by Zain-ul-Hassan for 30 at 41 for two. By the end of the six-over powerplay Somerset were 48 for two.

James Rew (9) and George Bartlett (33) added 35 for the third wicket whilst Sean Dickson made 34 from 23 balls, but wickets continued to fall and the visitors were eventually dismissed for 147 from 19.5 overs.

Glamorgan had reached 26 in the third over when Sam Northeast was caught behind by James Rew off the bowling of Alfie Ogborne for 11. Kasey Aldridge accounted for Kiran Carlson (4) at 37 for two. Eddie Byrom and Chris Cooke took Glamorgan to 70 for two by the end of the powerplay and the pair added 46 for the third wicket.

Byro went on to make 85 from 43 balls before falling to Archie Vaughan, and it was left to Zain-ul-Hassan and Andrew Salter to see the hosts over the line with five overs to spare.

Second XI Coach, Greg Kennis has named the following XI for the fixture: Kasey Aldridge, George Bartlett, Shoaib Bashir, Sean Dickson, Ned Leonard, Alfie Ogborne, James Rew, Kian Roberts, George Thomas, Andy Umeed and Archie Vaughan.